How the eight-month Asuu strike aided me in achieving my tech goals for 2022

How the eight-month Asuu strike aided me in achieving my tech goals for 2022

Dev Retro 2022


"Being a student is easy, but learning requires actual work." William Crawford

I committed myself to put in the actual effort this year (2022) to advance my coding profession. In this blog, I will walk you through my 2022 tech journey and how I reached my goals.

My name is Dahud Yusuf. I am a front-end developer as well as an instructor. This is documentation of how I was able to improve my growth in the tech industry. Let me take you back to the beginning of this journey. In 2021, I started learning how to code; I don't remember the precise month, but I was erratic in my learning. So it wasn't like I was learning how to code.

#100DaysOfCodeChallenge

At the end of my penultimate year's second-semester examinations, I looked online for ways to be constant in learning a skill, and I came across the #100DaysOfCodeChallenge. The #100DaysOfCodeChallenge is a public commitment one can make on Twitter, LinkedIn, or any platform that you will code for a minimum of one hour every day for the next 100 days. It requires one to follow two very simple rules to complete the challenge: The first is to code for at least an hour every day for the next 100 days, and the second is to tweet about it every day using the hashtag #100DaysOfCode.

I promised myself that I would give the challenge a try and see what happened at the end of the 100 days.

Here was the first post I tweeted before the commencement of the challenge.

Here was the first post I tweeted before the commencement of the challenge.

On September 20th, 2021, I began the #100DaysOfCodeChallenge. I utilized Jonas Schmedtmann HTML and CSS courses as well as the FreeCodeCamp Responsive Web Design Certification Course. I sacrificed by finishing the #100DaysOfCodeChallenge without missing a single day. Here are the accomplishments I made during the #100DaysOfCodeChallenge:

After learning HTML and CSS, I headed to Frontendmentor to hone my coding abilities by working on real-world projects. Frontend Mentor provides designs so that one can practice front-end skills using a real-life workflow. The challenges include designs (both mobile and desktop), assets, and a style guide to get started.

Here are some screenshots and links to some of the projects:

A social proof section

A preview-card-component

- GitHub repo URL

- Live URL

  • On day 37 of my #100DaysOfCodeChallenge, I joined Side Hustle Internship for the front-end development track, which lasted 6 weeks. I also took the Jobberman soft skill exam, passed it, and received my certificate.

Clipboard Landing Page

- GitHub repo link

- Live URL

  • I replicated the University of Lagos LMS main page with HTML and CSS.

- GitHub repo link

- Live URL

  • I contributed to an open-source project on GitHub on day 61 of the #100DaysOfCode. I also started learning JavaScript. But this was my first time contributing to an open source. This was what we came up with:

    - GitHub repo URL

I completed the six-week SideHustle internship and also received a certificate.

Finally, on December 28th, 2021, I completed my #100DaysOfCodeChallenge. It was a difficult road for me. Learning to code is difficult, but it is doable if you set your mind to it. The first month was daunting, but at the end of it, I noticed an improvement in my abilities.

I hope you learned a lot from my #100DaysOfCode experience. If you have been inconsistent with learning programming, you can try the #100DaysOfCode. More information is available here: #100DaysOfCode


2022 Tech Journey

As we approached the year 2022, I established a goal for myself. My goal was to learn in order to improve my coding skills and land my first front-end entry-level job. Here's the screenshot I tweeted at the time:

I came across Hack Sultan's tweet promoting Alt School Africa, a 12-month software engineering school. I became interested, but I was hesitant to apply because of my final-year school activities. Earlier in 2022, I already had a final school project topic and a literature review topic given to me. After I chose to apply, the application form was closed. Actually, I felt disappointed in myself for passing up such a chance.

My ALX Journey

On Facebook the following week, I saw the ALX 12-month Software Engineering program. I read the comments section to find out what other people thought about the program. I registered after reading the remarks and being satisfied with them. The registration procedure was cumbersome, but I was able to submit my application. After a few days, I received a mail from ALX congratulating me on my acceptance into the 12-month Software Engineering program. I was ecstatic with the news.

As previously said, I missed the Alt School application form due to my final-year school project. The day I started the ALX Africa programme on February 14, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) initiated a month-long warning strike that lasted eight months. I was unhappy with the strike since it altered the academic calendar, preventing me from graduating in August 2022. For those unfamiliar with the ASUU strike, the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) is a Nigerian union of university academic staff that uses strike actions to obtain fair wages and university autonomy from the federal government. I'll discuss how the 8-month ASUU strike aided my tech career.

So, I started the ALX program on February 14, and for the first three months, we learned GIT, Bash, and C-language. The program is designed in such a manner that there are always daily projects with a 24-hour deadline. There is, however, a second deadline for individuals who missed the first.

The ALX team proposed a physical place that would improve our learning. It was dubbed “Project Nest," and via it, they made co-working spaces available to students in the Lagos region. It was based on selection, and I was one of the students chosen to utilize the co-working space in Alaka, Surulere, Lagos. The working area was available for three months, including an internet connection and a power supply. I met other students in the ALX program. We all worked together to learn and solve difficulties.


My TiideLab Experience

Still in February, there was one software training school that I had been following for over a year, TIIDELAB. You can check read more about TiideLab here. I was looking forward to the application form for this year's fellowship. However, they organized a pre-fellowship before the main fellowship. So I applied for the pre-fellowship, took the aptitude assessment, passed, and got in.

We were taught the fundamentals of software programming throughout the 6-week pre-fellowship (HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Git, GitHub).

I worked on a final project with wonderful team members near the end of the training, which was overseen by Ayodele Samuel Adebayo.

Click here to view the project

Throughout the six weeks of training, I journaled about my experiences. You can read it here. As the six weeks of pre-fellowship training came to an end, I was among the top students who completed it.

The certificate I received:

When the main cohort-4 fellowship application was made available, I immediately submitted an application. I accepted the invitation to take the online amplitude test. I advanced to the following phase of the TIIDELAB fellowship cohort-4 application procedure.

My ability to solve problems, code, and communicate was evaluated at this level. I participated in the interview, but regrettably, I was not offered the main fellowship. 😭😭. I broke down and cried since I've worked so hard to get here.

Neo-Docto Internship

I didn't give up, I work to get better. I was offered a three-month internship in web development at NeoDocto Inc. NeoDocto offers services in worldwide media, healthcare, education, and IT. I used WordPress to create client websites while I was an intern at NeoDocto Inc. I also participated in online meetings with the expert team and worked with other team members to optimize the website. My experience with NeoDocto helped me develop my leadership, communication, time-management, and decision-making abilities. I appreciate NeoDocto for providing me with this opportunity.

One of my weekly reports included this image:

I4GXZuri Training

Ingressive for Good (I4G), in collaboration with Zuri, awarded coding scholarships for various IT skills in April. I applied for the full-stack development track. It is a three-month intense training period. The training began in May, and I gained knowledge of both front-end development (HTML, CSS, and JavaScript) and back-end development (Python and Django). It was my first time working on the backend (server side). Instead of honing my backend skills, my aim for the Zuri training was to hone my frontend skills. But by the end of 2023, I'll have learned the backend skills to enable me to become a full-stack developer.

We received weekly assignments with due dates during the three-month training period. There were some weird tasks. The community assisted me in getting solutions to some of my most difficult queries. I really liked the Python language, however, I had some problems with Django. I decided to quit learning Python to concentrate on JavaScript, which is the primary language used for front-end development.

Some participants were kicked out of the program near the conclusion, while others choose to drop out for reasons they knew about. Due to the work I put into the training, I didn't drop out or get kicked out. At the conclusion of the training and before the project phase, this was my Zuri dashboard.

These are some of the projects I completed throughout my three-month Zuri training: You can also check them out on my GitHub page.

Django-Crud

Landing Page

Registration form

Portfolio

- GitHub repo URL

- Live URL

Rock-Paper-Scissors Python game

- GitHub repo URL

Chess Board game UI

- GitHub repo URL

- Live URL

Out of the 32 000 students that applied for the I4GXZuri scholarship, around 12 000 made it to the project phase when it was time for the project phase.

Due to my affinity for networking, I had already established connections with numerous training participants before the project phase. Even after the Zuri training, we remain a unit.

I asked one of my new acquaintances from the training to offer me a plan for the project phase. She disclosed this to me 😂😂😂.

If you find yourself in that circumstance, I suggest using the technique 😇😇.

The project phase began and continued for three weeks. With the designers, we were put into groups and given a project to do. My group created a library of authentication codes that developers can download and use. The project phase was demanding, requiring presentations every morning and evening in addition to several meetings, but it paid off in the end. These were us during one of our meetings.

The people behind the project:

Alhamdulillah, I made it through the project phase. I completed the I4GXzuri training and earned my full-stack developer certification.

My certificate from I4GXZuri as a full-stack developer

Techathon frontend Training.

I signed up with Techathon for another front-end development course while I was doing Zuri training. Then, I performed a number of tasks simultaneously. Front-end development skills, as well as soft skills, were taught too. In the front-end development class, I made connections with a few folks. At the conclusion of the program, we collaborated on a group project with the designers and technical writers. Our task was to create a tracking app.

Due to my learning gaps, I had to leave the ALX 12-month SE program during this time since I was unable to sustain it any longer. Although it was really sad but we move.

These are the people in my team; it was enjoyable working with you all ❤️❤️❤️

My Techathon front-end development certificate:

Frontend Job that I got.

A person on my WhatsApp contact list asked for my résumé in the middle of August and also gave me a corporate recommendation. The next week, I received a message from HR asking me to schedule an interview time. I participated in the initial interview, which was successful. I continued to the second round of the interview, which I also passed. I was offered a remote position (Alhamdulillah). Nevertheless, it was an instructional position. After a few days, I was unable to continue the job for very apparent personal reasons.

I also received a physical job in Lagos, Nigeria, along the Yaba axis. It was a tech training center. I participated in the interview, which was successful. I was instructed to start work the following week. The ASUU's eight-month strike was suspended during that week. Due to conflicts with my educational commitments, I could not start the job.

I volunteered as a tutor to instruct and guide students in the front-end development track for a non-governmental organization.

Tech Diversity (Instinct Hub)

Instinct Hub was the last bootcamp I applied for. I applied for the front-end development track in order to expand my skills and build a network with other developers. The incentives that would be granted to the top 10 students following the program were the main factor in my decision to enrol in the course. An internship with Sterling Bank serves as the incentive. I was inspired to apply for the training because of that. I reassured myself that I could accomplish it and would place among the top 10 graduates. The training began on August 29 and ran for three months with a capstone project. The program facilitator meets with students on Saturdays to go over the previous week's lessons. The session is then followed by a quiz.

These are some of the projects I did during the training:

eCommerce Product Catalogue

- GitHub repo URL

- Live URL

Employee Directory

- GitHub repo URL

- Live URL

Name Plaque Application

- GitHub repo URL

- Live URL

Responsive Web Design

- GitHub repo URL

- Live URL

Only 30 of the roughly 300 students that began the training phase completed the project phase. I was among the 30 students who advanced to the final stage. The mail that was sent made me elated.

I completed the project, which was then submitted for review. After the project's review, I was among the top 10 students in the 2022 Tech Diversity Program.

The CEO of Instinct Hub praised our performance during the final closing ceremony. You may watch the session on the Instinct Hub channel on YouTube.

Unfortunately, the CEO made no mention of the Sterling Bank internship during the final closing ceremony, but we were advised to wait for another mail from them. I hope the mail brings good news for me and the other students.

I am willing to accept any position as a junior front-end developer. I'm open to any front-end developer internship (paid or unpaid) if there are no junior opportunities available.

Physical Tech Events

I went to my first physical tech event in November, which was put on by the Power Learn Project. Keynote presentations, internship opportunities, and giveaways are all part of the event.

The largest tech festival in Lagos, #Devfest2022, was another physical tech event that I attended. The conference includes talks on topics including mental health, mobile, design, web, cloud, DevOps, and machine learning, among many others. At the event, I ran into several of my pals from Zuri, Tiidelab, and ALX. Moreover, I met some new people.

Lastly, the Pure Heart Islamic Foundation of Nigeria, Lagos State branch requested me to speak as a guest speaker regarding skill acquisition at the current Pureheart Modeling Camp (PMC 2022). I spoke about different tech skills that are in high demand. Detailed information is available here.

Summary of my tech journey, 2022.

Knowing how to code is not simple, as you presumably already know, but it is possible if you set your mind to it. There is no other way to achieve success than hard work, thus, 2022 was genuinely the year of learning. I have put in the work because “The future depends on what you do today.” – Mahatma Gandhi. There’s no “get rich quick” formula. It takes grit and dedication.

2023 Goals:

  • The first goal is to secure an entry frontend role in any organization. If you know any organization that might be hiring or someone that might be hiring. I am available.

  • As learning is a lifelong endeavour, I aspire to keep expanding my knowledge.

  • I intend to solve problems and create solutions with my tech skills.

  • I intend to share more content on Twitter and LinkedIn

  • I plan to start technical writing and transit to web3.

  • In addition, I hope to create a community of developers and train aspiring front-end developers.

  • I hope to attend more physical tech events.

In 2023, I'm looking forward to reviewing my accomplishments and improvement. Before then, I value everyone who has helped me along the way in the tech space. You're all appreciated.